Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom – Okavango

Okavango_DeltaMutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom was most definitely one of the nature shows that I think was primarily responsible for my wanting to grow up to be a naturalist.  This episode, Okavango, was done in 1966.

He mentions regions that are familiar from Elise’s Namibia stories, like Chobe and Okavango.

NB – Elise is adamant that the “O” at the front of Okavango is silent.  The locals apparently called it “Kavango,” which is a corruption of the name that is actually on the map – Cubango River

Perkins’ and Fowler’s Wild Kingdom show still makes connections for me and gives me geography lessons – like the fact that it is the Kalahari Desert that overlies Namibia, Botswana, and South Africa.

Kalahari is one of those exotic-sounding names from somewhere deep in my childhood of reading adventure books and National Geographic magazines and watching shows like Wild Kingdom!

Here I am married to a former denizen of the Kalahari and I didn’t even know it!

Categories: Adventure, Nature, Travel

Tagged as: